The YouTube Partner Program was known to pick out only the best YouTube channels to be Partners. That just changed today. Basically, anyone who has even one monetized video on their channel is now considered a "Partner".
ObviouslyBenHughes made a fantastic video which pretty much sums up my thoughts on it.
I've applied for Partnership once and was denied. Now that I'm automatically a "Partner" now, I don't feel like I've earned it. Another thing, it's still not the real thing. Partners before today had branding options. The new "Partners" don't have any of those features yet. The blog writer for YouTube commented on the Partner Branding Feature:
"Thanks everyone for your feedback.
We recognize that custom thumbnails and banners are sought-after
features by many creators. And we’d like you to know that we are
working on making these and other features available to more partners
over time, like we have done with long uploads and monetization."
Overall, I think this is a bad move by YouTube. There will be ads on literally every video now, and it will be abused. My friend, AcademyArtVenture, said that the quality of videos will start to get worse. I completely agree. People think that the more videos you upload, the more money you will get. Totally not true!
I hope to see everyone on the other side after this change. This is not a reason to quit YouTube, but it certainly is a reason for previous Partners to be upset (and even non-Partners like myself).
No comments:
Post a Comment